Sleeping Cycles

For the past few years, I’ve been attentive to how many hours of sleep I get every night along with noticing how I feel after certain amounts of rest.

What I’ve noticed is I need around 8 hours of sleep a night to feel refreshed the next morning. Most adults need anywhere in between 7 and a half to 9 hours a night.

I’ve always been one to complain of fatigue during the day and this was mostly because I was sleep deprived. I never got enough sleep and am only starting to catch up on that now.

There are so many negative effects of not getting enough sleep that I had to start paying attention to this crucial part of my life. I learnt that we sleep in approximately 90 minute sleep cycles and if you wake up at the end/beginning of a cycle we are in a light enough sleep that we will feel refreshed.

However, if we wake up in the middle of a cycle, even if we slept more than 9 hours we will feel drowsy and won’t have the energy to get out bed. That is why we need to plan when we will go to bed and when we will wake up the next morning as much as possible.

This will help you massively throughout the day if you are more awake and alert.

Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

